

Creating Communities of Innovation

AURP Awards of Excellence Awards Recipients

OUTSTANDING RESEARCH/SCIENCE PARK AWARD

- 2014 Technology Square at the Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia
- 2013 University of Oklahoma University Research Campus, Norman, Oklahoma
- 2012 Buffalo Niagara Medical Campus, Buffalo, New York
- 2011 Research Park at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Champaign, Illinois
- 2010 Virginia Tech Corporate Research Center, Blacksburg, Virginia
- 2009 Innovation Place, Saskatchewan, Canada
- 2008 Sandia Science & Technology Park, Albuquerque, New Mexico
- 2007 Centennial Campus at North Carolina State University, Raleigh, North Carolina
- 2006 The University City Science Center, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
- 2005 Delaware Technology Park Inc., Newark, Delaware
- 2004 Purdue Research Park, West Lafayette, Indiana
- 2003 The University of New Orleans Research & Technology Park, New Orleans, Louisiana
- 2002 Discovery Parks, Vancouver, British Columbia
- 2001 University of Arizona Science and Technology Park, Tucson, Arizona
- 2000 Rensselaer Technology Park, Troy, New York
- 1999 Research Triangle Foundation of North Carolina, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina
- 1998 Massachusetts Biotechnology Research Park, Worcester, Massachusetts
- 1997 Cummings Research Park, Huntsville, Alabama
- 1996 University Research Park, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, Wisconsin

EMERGING RESEARCH/SCIENCE PARK AWARD

- 2014 The University Technology Park at Illinois Institute of Technology, Chicago, Illinois
- 2013 Louisiana State University Innovation Park, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
- 2012 King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST) Science Town, Thuwal, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
- 2011 The City of Agrifood, Veterinary and Agroenvironment Biotechnology in Saint-Hyacinthe, Quebec, Canada
- 2010 Science + Technology Park at Johns Hopkins and New Eastside Community, Baltimore, Maryland
- 2009 Clemson University International Center for Automotive Research (CU-ICAR), Greenville, South Carolina
- 2008 University of South Florida Research Park, Tampa Bay, Florida
- 2007 University of Maryland, Baltimore, BioPark, Baltimore, Maryland

CAREER ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

- 2014 Dr. Joe Meredith, Virginia Tech Corporate Research Center, Blacksburg, Virginia
- 2013 Gregory W. Deason, Purdue Research Park, West Lafayette, Indiana
- 2012 Austin Beggs, (formerly with Innovation Place) Saskatoon, Sask., Canada
- 2011 Dr. Nancy E. Kossan, University of California, San Diego Science Research Park, San Diego, California
- 2010 Jackie Kerby Moore, Sandia Science & Technology Park, Albuquerque, New Mexico
- 2009 J. Michael Bowman, Delaware Technology Park, Newark, Delaware
- 2008 Norma Grace (formerly with New Orleans Research & Technology Park)
- 2007 Bruce Wright, University of Arizona Science and Tech Park, Tucson, Arizona
- 2006 Brian Donnelly, Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville, Illinois
- 2005 William M. Dean (formerly with !dealliance/Piedmont Triad Research Park)
- 2004 Richard D. Finholt (formerly with University of Missouri System-Missouri Research Park)
- 2003 Charles (Chuck) Henderson (formerly with the University of Nebraska at Lincoln)
- 2002 Claude McKinney (formerly with Centennial Campus)
- 2001 Charles Dilks (formerly with University City Science Center)
- 2000 James O. Roberson (formerly with Research Triangle Foundation of North Carolina)
- 1999 Wayne McGown (formerly with University of Wisconsin-Madison Research Park)
- 1998 Ronald Kysiak (formerly with Northwestern University/Evanston Research Park, Inc.)
- 1997 Michael Wacholder Rensselaer Technology Park, Troy, New York
- 1996 Dr. Mark L. Money (formerly with Texas A & M University and University of Utah)

AURP Awards of Excellence Awards Recipients

continued

INNOVATION AWARD

- 2014 Modernizing Medicine, Boca Raton, Florida
- 2013 Multi-junction Solar Cells, EMCORE Corporation, Sandia Science & Technology Park, Albuquerque, New Mexico
- 2012 Stratatech StrataGraft Skin Substitute, University Research Park at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, Wisconsin
- 2011 TEAM Technologies, Inc., Sandia Science & Technology Park, Albuquerque, New Mexico
- 2010 Fraunhofer USA, Plymouth, Michigan
- 2009 Medipacs The University of Arizona Science & Technology Park, Tucson, Arizona
- 2008 Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine Piedmont Triad Research Park, Winston-Salem, North Carolina
- 2007 bwtech@UMBC, Baltimore, Maryland

LEADERSHIP AWARD

- 2014 Governor James Baxter Hunt, State of North Carolina
- 2013 Wexford Science & Technology, LLC, a BioMed Realty Company, Baltimore, Maryland
- 2012 Chancellor Emeritus Irving Shain, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, Wisconsin
- 2011 Honorable Dave Heineman, Governor, State of Nebraska
- 2010 Dr. Frank B. Cerra, University of Minnesota Academic Health Center, Minneapolis, Minnesota
- 2009 David J. Ramsay University of Maryland BioPark, Baltimore, Maryland
- 2008 Sherman McCorkle Science & Technology Park Development Corporation, Albuquerque, New Mexico
- 2007 Rasesh Thakkar Senior Managing Director Tavistock Group, Orlando, Florida
- 2006 Dr. Eugene P. Trani President Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, Virginia
- 2005 Dr. Raymond D. Smoot Chief Operating Officer, Virginia Tech Foundation, Blackburg, Virginia
- 2003 Dr. Manuel T. Pacheco President Emeritus, University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona
- 2002 Louisiana Governor M. J. "Mike" Foster, Jr., New Orleans, Louisiana

EXCALIBUR AWARD

The Excalibur award was created to recognize an organization or individual who, under adverse conditions, has made a singular and exceptional contribution to the community

- 2012 John Fernandez, Former Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Economic Development
- 2011 Senator Mark Pryor of Arkansas
- 2006 Louisiana Business Technology Center, Louisiana State University South Campus Research Park Charles D'Agostino, Executive Director Baton Rouge, Louisiana

VISION AWARD

2014 Robert T. Geolas, The Research Triangle Foundation, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina

2013 J. Michael Bowman, Delaware Technology Park, Newark, Delaware

Honorable Jeff Bingaman United States Senator New Mexico

APPRECIATION AWARD

2009 Eva Klein Eva Klein & Associates, Ltd., St. Louis, Missouri

2008 Vernon George (Retired), George, Henry, George Partners, Virginia

DEVELOPING A CULTURE OF INNOVATION AWARD

- 2013 The University City Science Center, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
- 2011 Purdue Research Park, West Lafayette, Indiana