

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Chelsea Simpson 520-529-2521

chelseasimpson@aurp.net

Creating Communities of Innovation

## AURP Announces 2010 Awards of Excellence in Innovation and Elects New Board of Directors

The Association of University Research Parks (AURP) announces their 2010 Annual Awards of Excellence and names Virginia Tech Corporate Research Center in Blacksburg, Virginia the 2010 Outstanding Research Park.

The 15<sup>th</sup> Annual AURP Awards of Excellence recognize the achievements of outstanding research parks and industry veterans and encourages the development of best practices among research and science parks.

"AURP recognizes exceptional leadership in innovation by honoring university research parks, individuals and companies who are driving innovation in their communities," said AURP President Harold Strong. "Among this year's AURP Awards of Excellence recipients, we are proud to name Virginia Tech Corporate Research Center the 2010 AURP Outstanding Research Park."

The Outstanding Research/Science Park Achievement Award recognizes parks that excel in bringing technology from the laboratory to economically viable business activities, thus promoting the growth of businesses, jobs and public revenue.

The Virginia Tech Corporate Research Center (CRC) has developed 120 acres adjacent to the Virginia Tech campus. There are now 27 buildings in the CRC totaling approximately 1 million square feet. There are currently 140+ private companies and research centers in the CRC that employ over 2,200 people. The incubator program, VT KnowledgeWorks, is currently working with over 50 start-up companies.

The 2010 Emerging Research/Science Park was presented to the Science + Technology Park at Johns Hopkins and New Eastside Community in Baltimore, Maryland. Through the translation of lab invention and discovery into real jobs and economic opportunity, the Science + Technology Park at Johns Hopkins has begun to reestablish economic opportunity and security in East Baltimore while reconnecting Johns Hopkins to its community. 422 permanent new jobs have been created in the Park and 1,943 total jobs to date have been generated by the development.

The Innovation Award is presented to Fraunhofer USA, headquartered in Plymouth, Michigan, with research centers located in the Delaware Technology Park and M Square Research Park. Fraunhofer bridges the resource gaps that many early-stage technology

companies encounter when trying to launch their products to market. Fraunhofer's research centers present customers with their unique capabilities, outstanding resources and important synergistic relations with other Fraunhofer centers, institutes, university partners and special associates. The Fraunhofer model is a significant innovation approach leading to many technological achievements that benefit society. These inventions are commercialized through licensing and spin-outs.

The Career Achievement Award goes to Jackie Kerby Moore, who has served as the executive director of the Sandia Science & Technology Park since its inception in 1998. This 200+ acre technology community is affiliated with Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque, New Mexico. In her role as executive director, Moore has overseen the management, marketing, recruiting of tenant companies, and stakeholder relations. The Park now serves as home for 31 organizations employing more than 2,200 people, and total investment in the Park exceeds \$334 million. Moore is a past president of AURP.

The Leadership Award is presented to Dr. Frank B. Cerra, Senior Vice President for Health Services and Dean of the Medical School at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis, Minnesota. As Senior Vice President for Health Sciences for the past 14 years, Dr. Cerra has served as the chief leader and advocate for the development and expansion of the University of Minnesota's Biomedical Discovery District. He successfully identified property surrounding the existing Lions Research Building as providing the opportunity for research space growth in biomedical research, and then led the University and legislative effort required to secure bonding funds for the district.

Three outgoing board members are honored, including Lora Lee Martin of the California Council on Science and Technology, Greg Hyer of the University of Wisconsin-Madison University Research Park and Gregory W. Deason of the Purdue Research Park. Brian Darmody of The University of Maryland received the Presidential Award for his service as AURP President.

AURP elects Harold Strong of the Discovery Park at the University of North Texas, President of the AURP Board of Directors. Newly elected Board Members include Pete Bianco of Nilan Johnson Lewis PA, Dr. Rod Casto of the University of South Florida Research Foundation and Gregory Napier of the Purdue Research Foundation.

-30-

**About AURP:** The Association of University Research Parks is a professional association of university related research and science parks. AURP's mission is to foster innovation, commercialization and economic growth through university, industry and government partnerships. For more information, visit AURP's Web site at <a href="www.aurp.net">www.aurp.net</a> or contact Chelsea Simpson at <a href="mailto:chelseasimpson@aurp.net">chelseasimpson@aurp.net</a>.